Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Upton Census Forms Include New Precinct Assignments

Upton residents should have received their census forms by now. According to Town Clerk Kelly McElreath, residents should complete their forms and return them to the Town Clerk's office as soon as possible. However, new in this year's census mailing, residents will find their newly assigned voting precinct.

Last year, McElreath was notified that due to the town's growing population, which was confirmed in the 2010 census results, Upton would be divided into two voting precincts.

According to Upton's 2010 Census numbers, the town's population stands at approximately 7,300. As a result, Federal Law dictates that communities with populations over 6,200 are required to divide into two equal precincts. A community with an even larger population, such as Uxbridge with a population of approximately 13,000, is divided into three precincts.

For Upton voters, the two precincts mean that residents will continue to vote at Nipmuc Regional High School, however, they must first check in at their assigned precinct before proceeding to the voting booth. The new precincts will first be utilized during the March Presidential Primary.

Speaking of elections, Upton residents can pick up nomination papers on Monday, February 6, if interested in running for a town office. Offices to appear on the May 7 Town Election ballot including its incumbent and term length include: Moderator for one year, David Loeper, incumbent; Selectman for three years, Robert Fleming, incumbent; Collector/Treasurer for three years, Kenneth Glowacki, incumbent; Assessors of Taxes for three years, Charles Marsden, incumbent; Mendon Upton Regional School District Committee for three years, Donna Coakley-McGowan, incumbent; Mendon Upton Regional School District Committee for two years, Philip DeZutter, incumbent who was recently elected in December to fill a vacancy; Cemetery Commission for three years, Leo Lamanuzzi, incumbent; Board of Health for three years, Alfred Holman, incumbent; Recreation Commission for three years, Timothy Alibozek, incumbent; Trustees of Upton Public Library, three for three years, John Robertson, Jr., Erin Alcott, Laurie Wodin, incumbents; Planning Board for five years, Margaret Carroll, incumbent; Upton Housing Authority for one year, Linda Jones, incumbent who was elected in December to fill a vacancy; Finance Committee for three years, Robert Driscoll, incumbent who was elected in August to fill a vacancy; and Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds for three years, Kenneth Glowacki, incumbent.

Completed nomination papers must be returned to the Town Clerk's office by March 19 no later than 5 p.m. All candidates are required to obtain 32 signatures from Upton registered voters. For questions on the census forms, new voting precincts, or nomination papers, contact Town Clerk Kelly McElreath at 508-529-3565.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2020  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.