Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Town Election on April 2

Contests for the Board of Selectmen and the Board of Library Trustees, a ballot question, and the election of all 240 Town Meeting Members will be decided by voters at the April 2 Town Election. In addition, polling places have changed since last year's Town Election.

Newcomer Michael Denice is challenging 30-year veteran Dino DeBartolomeis for a three-year seat on the Board of Selectmen. The top two vote-getters among newcomer A. Tiego da Silva and incumbents Lisa Bacchiocchi and Richard Person will win two, three-year seats as trustees of the Milford Town Library.

Other candidates on the ballot are:

• Samuel Bonasoro (incumbent), three-year seat on the Board of Assessors

• Kenneth Evans (incumbent), three-year term on the Board of Health

• Rudolph Lioce III (incumbent), three-year term on the Board of Sewer


• Joseph Arcudi (incumbent), three-year term on the Park Commission

• John Cook (incumbent), five-year term on the Planning Board

• Scott Harrison, three-year term on the School Committee

• Donald Quattrochio, three-year term on the School Committee

• Michael Walsh (incumbent), three-year term on the School Committee

• Paula Fortin (incumbent), three-year term as Tax Collector

• William Cavazza III (incumbent),

three-year term as Trustee of Vernon Grove Cemetery.

• Maryann Fiske (incumbent), three-year term as Trustee of Vernon Grove Cemetery

[Editor's Note: See the candidate profiles for School Committee candidates in this issue. Profiles of the Selectmen Candidates ran in the March 9 Milford Town Crier and are available online at]

The ballot question asks voters to accept a state law that would require indemnifying municipal officials for claims against them arising out of their employment [Editor's Note: See separate story in this issue on the ballot question.].

Because the federal 2010 Census showed gains in Milford's population, an eighth voting precinct had to be created, necessitating the election of all 240 elected Town Meeting Members – 30 for each precinct. The top 10 vote-getters in each precinct will be elected to three-year terms as Town Meeting Members, the next highest 10 vote-getters as two-year members, and the third highest 10 vote-getters as one-year members.

Sixty-two Town Meeting Member positions remain open with no candidates. Write-in candidates should notify the Town Clerk's office of their intent to run and "pass the word" to have supporters write in a candidate's correct legal voting name and address. The open ings are: Precinct 1: 12 openings; Precinct 2: nine; Precinct 3: six; Precinct 4: 15; Precinct 5: one; Precinct 6: six; Precinct 7: 10; and, Precinct 8: 3 openings.

The new polling places are:

• Precincts 1 and 4 – Milford Senior Center (previously where Precincts 1 and 3 voted)

• Precincts 2 and 3 – Italian-American War Veterans Hall (previously where Precinct 2 voted)

• Precincts 5,6,7 and 8 – Portuguese Club (previously where Precincts 4,5,6 and 7 voted).

Editor's Note: Election results will be posted at as soon as they are available.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2020  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.