Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Three Races to Be Determined in Mendon on May 14

May 14 is the Mendon Town Election and three races will be decided on that day. The polls for the May 14 Town Election will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Miscoe Hill School.

Running for Board of Selectmen's three-year seat is incumbent Mike Ammendolia, who is seeking his third term. Ammendolia previously served on the Finance Committee for 16 years and has also served on the Conservation Commission and is the Selectmen's liaison to the Taft Public Library. His challenger is lifelong resident Mark Reil who is currently serving as a Commissioner for the Parks Department and was also appointed as Mendon's Green Communities Manager in 2011.

The School Committee's three-year open seat is being sought by Kevin Rudden and Diane Duncan. Rudden previously served as a Selectman and Town Moderator. Currently he is serving as the Council on Aging's Transportation Advisory Committee and is also Mendon's American's with Disabilities Act Coordinator. Duncan works as a substitute teacher at Clough Elementary School and served as a member of the Mendon Upton Regional District Spanish Immersion Advisory Committee. She has also been Den Leader and Secretary for Mendon's Troop 44.

The third race is for the Parks Commissioner's three-year seat. Incumbent and current Chair Susan Barnett is running against A.J. Byrne. Barnett has served on the Parks Commission since 2006 and is also serving on the Community Preservation Committee. She was also instrumental in bringing the sport of lacrosse to Nipmuc High School. Byrne previously served on the Parks Department before resigning. Currently, he's the town's Summerfest Coordinator and is involved in the Mendon Junior Baseball and Nipmuc Youth Softball programs.

A number of other seats are uncontested and include incumbents Ken O'Brien for Assessor for three years, Jay Byer for Moderator for one year, James Quirk for Planning Board for five years, Andrew Fiske for Board of Health for three years, Dwight Watson for Water Commissioner for three years, Mary Garagliano for Housing Authority for five years, Howard Phipps for Tree Warden for three years, and Amy Fahey for Library Trustee for three years. There are two other seats for Library Trustee positions, which have no candidates running; one is for a three year term and the other for a one year term. The incumbents, Katherine Carlson and Daniel Gilmore, have chosen not to seek re-election. The two vacant seats could be filled through a write-in campaign.

Residents will also see three questions on the ballot concerning two overrides and a debt exclusion.

Question 1 will ask residents whether or not they approve the purchase of a multi-purpose trackless vehicle for the Highway Department for $$165,845. The purchase would be funded through a five-year debt exclusion.

Question 2 will ask whether or not residents approve the town joining a mosquito control program for $38,200 to be funded through a Proposition 2 ½ Override.

And Question 3 will ask residents if they support a Town Coordinator's/Administrator's position for $110,000 to be funded through a Proposition 2 ½ Override.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2020  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.