Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Mendon Voters Give BVT a Thumbs Down for Expansion

Mendon residents voted down a debt exclusion ballot question by a vote of 162 to 131 that would have helped Blackstone Valley Tech. expand its programming by adding three new vocations to its curriculum. The ballot vote took place during the May 13 Annual Town Election. During the May 2 Annual Town Meeting, residents also rejected an article on the warrant concerning the BVT expansion.

In addition to the ballot vote, 12 seats were up for re-election. Although all candidates ran unopposed this year, a number of newcomers will now sit in the elected seats.

Rich Schofield is Mendon's newest Selectman for the next three years receiving 231 votes in total with 62 blank ballots and 12 write ins. Incumbent Lawney Tinio stated in 2013 that he would not be seeking another term. Once Schofield announced his intention to run for the Selectman's seat, Tinio endorsed him. Previously Schofield served as the Finance Committee Chairman.

Pamela Angenent is the new member of the Mendon Upton Regional School Committee receiving a total of 221 votes with 79 ballots left blank and five write ins. Angenent will serve on the Committee for three years. Another newcomer, Allan Kent, will serve as Water Commission for three years receiving 213 votes with 84 ballots left blank and eight write-ins.

Daniel Byer is the town's newest Park Commissioner for the next three years. Byer has experience serving as the Department's Administrative Assistant. He received 230 votes, 69 ballots were left blank and there were six write-ins.

And newcomer Jane Blackwood will serve as Trustee for the Taft Public Library for a three year term and received 196 votes. Incumbent Susan Darnell will again serve as Library Trustee for three more years as well and received 213 votes. There were also 199 total blank ballots and two write-ins.

Other incumbents who were again seeking re-election included Jay Byer for Moderator for one year who received 254 total votes with 43 blank ballots and eight write-ins, and Alan Tetreault for Highway Surveyor for three years who received 245 votes with 55 blanks and five write-ins.

Alan Greenberg will again serve on the Board of Health for three years receiving 228 votes, 73 ballots were left blank and there were four write-ins, and Bruce Tycks will serve as Assessor for three years and received 236 votes, with 66 ballots left blank and three write-ins.

John Vandersluis received 234 votes for the Planning Board's five-year seat, with 70 ballots left blank and one write-in. And Diane Stevens received 224 votes for the Housing Authority's five-year seat with 79 blank ballots and two write-ins.

Out of 4,134 registered voters, 305 residents took part in the election.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2019  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.