Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Two Races on Upton’s Ballot; Several Seats Still Remain Vacant

Residents will decide the outcome of two races during Upton's May 2 Annual Town Election; one for the Board of Selectman's three year seat and the other for the Housing Authority's five year seat. As of March 28, the latest information revealed not only the two races but also three seats had no candidates.

Incumbent Ken Picard is hoping to retain his seat after serving as a Selectman for the last nine years; he's also served on the Planning Board for nine years. Newcomer Gary Daugherty is also running for Selectman. Daugherty is a full-time firefighter in Hopkinton and was also once an on- call firefighter in Upton. The other race concerns the Housing Authority's five year seat. Both the incumbent, Mildred Galeone, and challenger Pamela Goodwin have turned in their nomination papers.

Despite the two races, there are three offices currently without candidates. Incumbent Deb Ammorelli is not running again for the three year seat on the Recreation Commission. In addition, Michael Oliver is not seeking another three year term as Board of Commissioner of Trust Funds and the fifth Constable's seat is also vacant again.

However, there is some good news in that William Taylor has decided to run for the Assessor's three year seat; incumbent James Earle is running for the one year Assessor's seat.

Others who are running unchallenged include incumbent Dorothy Scally for the three year seat on the Regional District's School Committee, incumbent David Loeper for the one year moderator's seat, incumbent Richard Robinson for the Board of Health for three years, incumbent Glenn Fowler for the Cemetery Commission for three years, incumbent Raymond Smith for the Planning Board for five years, and incumbent Judith Katz, incumbent Kathleen Kelley, and newcomer Camille Hamlet for the three Library Trustee seats for three years. In addition, James Bates, Jr., Steven Driver, Sandra Hakala, and Michael Moran for Constable for three years will be on the ballot.

All candidates had until March 30 to withdraw their names from the election. The last day for residents to register to vote in the Town Election is Tuesday, April 12. The Town Clerk's office will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. that day. Anyone with questions on their voter registration should contact the Town Clerk's office at 508-529-3565. The polls will be open on May 2 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Nipmuc Regional High School.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2018  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.