Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Daugherty New Upton Selectman

More than 1,100 Upton residents came out to vote during the May 2 Town Election with the majority of citizens ultimately voting to elect a new Selectman for the town. Newcomer Gary Daugherty Jr., beat out incumbent Ken Picard to sit on the Board of Selectmen for the next three years. Daugherty defeated Picard with double the numbers receiving 752 votes over Picard's 350 votes.

"I'm really excited to serve the town," said Daugherty the following day. "And I'm very thankful to everyone who came out and supported me; it meant a lot." Daugherty is a firefighter in Hopkinton and former on-call firefighter in Upton who also served on the town's EMS Advisory Committee. He said he realizes he has a lot to learn. "That will take some time but I'm ready." The election results were effective immediately and Daugherty sat in on his first meeting as a Selectman the day after the election.

There was also a race for the Housing Authority's five year seat. Incumbent Mildred Morin Galeone beat out her challenger Pamela Goodwin by a vote of 580 to 369.

All the other races were uncontested and included Dorothy Scally for the three year seat for the Regional School District School Committee who received a total of 755 votes. Newcomer Bill Taylor was elected Assessor for three years receiving 788 votes and James Earl will fill the Assessor's one year term and received 815 votes total; Earl served in the Assessor's three year seat previously.

Other elected officials included incumbent David Loeper who received 888 votes for the Town Moderator's one year term and incumbent Richard Robinson received 726 votes and will again sit on the Board of Health for three additional years. And Raymond Smith received a total of 767 votes for the Planning Board's five year seat.

Glenn Fowler received a total of 781 votes and will sit on the Cemetery Commission for three years and Library Trustees Judith Katz, Kathleen Kelley, and Camille Hamlet received 710, 741, and 745 votes, respectively, for the three year seats. And the Constables elected included James Bates, Jr., Steven Driver, Sandra Hakala, and Michael Moran who each received 720, 646, 645, and 690 votes, respectively.

Three elected seats remain vacant and include the three year seat for the Recreation Commission, Trust Fund Commissioner and an additional Constable; both for three year terms. There were write in candidates for those seats who may be contacted to see if they have any interest in serving. Out of 5,361 registered voters, 1,114 residents voted in the election or 21 percent.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2018  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.