Click to Learn More
Milford Town Crier

Town Crier Publication Dates
Town Crier Newspaper Advertising Rates

Town Crier Publications

Promote Your Page Too

Latest News

Crossing Over to Boy Scouts

Upton Cub Scout Pack 132 Arrow of Light recipients were, l-r, Kyle Jeronymo, Justin McNamara, Patrick Murphy, Zachary Taylor, Joseph Moruzzi, Tony Richardson, Corey Lazarz and Nicholas Herd, (not pictured, Lucas Nickelsen.)

On Thursday, February 17, Webelos II Scouts from Upton Cub Scout Pack 132 took the final steps in their journey as Cub Scouts receiving their Arrow of Light Award. The Arrow of Light is the graduation ceremony in which Cub Scouts "crossover" to Boy Scouts, and it is the only patch they will carry with them for their new uniforms. For most, it is the culmination of five years together, a remarkable feat. Scouts are required to earn at least eight activity badges as Webelos Scouts, including Fitness, Citizen, Outdoorsman, and Readyman, among others. 

During the ceremony, the boys reminisced via a Pocket Ceremony, reminding them of the different achievements they had completed each year to earn the patches on their uniform pocket - Bobcat, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos.

Keith Jeronymo, leader of Den 7, summarized the boys' achievements and described how important parents had been through this five-year process, saying, "The boys wouldn't have been the success story they were without the participation and dedicated involvement of parents." He also noted with pride, "These Scouts have remained committed to a goal that has been five years in the making. And if you would say, 'That's quite an accomplishment', I would agree."

Boy Scout Tony Arrigo of Troop 132, spoke about the activities and challenges that lie ahead for them as they become Boy Scouts. Matthew Conlon, Mohegan Council Hassanamisco District Executive, gave the Scouts words of encouragement and read the Bridge Story written by Karen Ober and Leanne Luetkemeyer.

The Webelos II Scouts who received this year's honor were, from Den 7 -- Nicholas Herd, Kyle Jeronymo, Justin McNamara, Patrick Murphy, Tony Richardson and Zachary Taylor, and from Den 8 -- Corey Lazarz, Joseph Moruzzi, and Lucas Nickelsen. Webelos II Den Leaders were Jeronymo and Paul Moruzzi.

At the end of the Arrow of Light Ceremony, the Scouts crossed over an actual bridge borrowed from Mendon Cub Scout Pack 1. On hand to welcome the boys as they crossed over were Scoutmaster Bill Andrews, Assistant Scoutmasters and Scouts from Boy Scout Troop 132.


Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More

Click to Learn More


Town Crier Publications, Inc. · 48 Mechanic Street, Upton, MA 01568
Phone: 508-529-7791 · E-mail:

  Copyright © 2020  Town Crier Publications, Inc.
 All rights reserved.  ·  Login

Website designed and hosted by Standing Stone Designs.