By Brenda Crowell

Staff Reporter

Mendon has three new Select Board members per the unofficial results from the Annual Town Election on Tuesday, May 17.

Alejna Brugos won the three-year seat left by the departure of current Select Board Chair Mark Reil, who chose not to run again this year. Brugos received 523 votes to 371 for Michael Jones.

Brendan Chenelle received 411 votes to take the newly-created two-year term over challenger Justin Harshaw (333 votes) and Dyana Steeves (148). The one-year seat, also new this year, went to Michael Goddard, who ran unopposed and received 672 votes.

Frederick “Ted” Steeves defeated incumbent Alan Tetreault for a three-year term as Tree Warden, 445 votes to 426.

Incumbent Kerry Laurence successfully defended her three-year seat on the Mendon-Upton Regional School Committee by a 403-372 margin over Darah Landers.

Damon Tinio, incumbent on the Planning Board, kept his five-year seat with 548 votes. Jay Krausse received 12 votes as a write-in candidate.

All other candidates ran unopposed. Incumbents who retained their seats were Thomas Merolli with 684 votes (Moderator, one year), Andrew Fiske with 675 (Board of Health, three years), Kenneth O’Brien with 635 (Board of Assessors, three years), Allan Byrne Jr. with 669 (Parks Commissioner, three years), and Kevin Rudden with 625 (Water Commissioner, three years).

Vincent Roy received 623 votes for a two-year term on the Water Commissioners, while Leesa Michael (three years) and Gabrielle Porciello (two years) garnered 655 and 656 votes, respectively, for the Mendon-Upton Regional School District Committee.

Voters were nearly evenly split on Question 1 on the ballot, which asked if the town’s elected Highway Surveyor should become an appointed Highway Surveyor. Unofficial results show 409 “yes” votes to 403 “no” votes.

Results are unofficial until validated by the Town Clerk’s office later this week.